The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum
Picture 13 Children Playing outside.jpg

EYFS Framework

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.  
Children should develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:  

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development.  

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  
As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning

The key to children’s learning is having active play experiences, with adults to talk to them and support what they are doing.

The curriculum highlights the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning.’ These are:

  • Playing and exploring

  • Active learning

  • Creativity and critical thinking


We support children with these Characteristics of Effective Learning, by providing quality and exciting play opportunities, that enable the children to explore, question, have a go and find their own solutions.

Picture 2 Children Playing with Teacher.
Picture 6 Children Reading.png

At Acorns our weekly planning ensures that all areas of learning and development are included in our activities and that children participate in play opportunities, which will interest, challenge and develop their skills and knowledge.